Learners Permit Florida
1. Complete Our Florida Drivers Ed Course
You already know what to do. Let’s sign up.
2. Pass Your Florida Online Permit Exam
If you’ve already taken Drivers Ed, What are you waiting for? Sign up now!
3. Get Your Graduated Florida Drivers License
Florida’s Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law has three stages
(click a button below for more detail):
Learners Permit/License (Age 15)
To apply for a Learner’s License, you must:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Have successfully completed your TLSAE course
- Bring your signed Parental Consent form to the DHSMV
- Pass a written skills, vision, and hearing test
For the first 3 months that you have your Learner’s License, you may only drive during daylight hours. After those 3 months are up, you may drive until 10 p.m. as long as you are with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in your passenger seat.
Intermediate License (Ages 16-17)
To apply for an Intermediate License, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Have held your Learner’s License for 1 year
- Have NOT incurred any traffic violations during that time
At age 16, you will be allowed to drive by yourself between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. Outside of those hours, you’ll need to be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 or older (unless you are traveling to and from work or a school function).
At age 17, you will be allowed to drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., with all of the same provisions as listed above.
Full Privilege License (Age 18)
At age 18, all restrictions will fall off of your license, and you will be allowed full driving privileges. Congratulations!
4. Fulfill Your In-Car Training Requirement (Must Be Supervised by a Parent/Guardian)
According to Florida State law, the supervising parent/guardian is required to confirm that the teen driver has:
- An adult over the age of 21 in possession of a driver's license to accompany the teen in the front passenger seat at all times.
- Driven at least 50 hours, with 10 of those hours occurring at night.
- Received the driving log, skills mastery checklist, and driving certification form; these can be downloaded through our PARENT-TEEN DRIVING SKILLS GUIDE. The driving certification form must be either notarized or witnessed by a DHSMV examiner.
5. Get Your Florida Driver's License
A. Make Your Appointment
You can schedule an appointment online to take the Class E License driving test. The only exception to this is for individuals who have already taken and passed a Driver's Education course that is approved by the state; in this case, if you are able to supply a waiver from your Driver's Ed program, you may forgo the road test.
B. Take Your Road Test
C. Then Drive Safely
Drug & Alcohol Course and
Easy Permit Exam
You’ll get the best of both worlds with our Online Drivers Ed and Online Permit Exam Combo.
- Get Your Florida Permit Faster
- Avoid Long Lines at the DHSMV
- Work Around Your Schedule
Enjoy the Extra Freedom Audio Provides!
Drug & Alcohol Course
Perfect if you just need to take Florida Drivers Ed and prefer to go to the DHSMV for your Permit Exam.
- Fun & Easy Course
- Easy Multiple Choice Questions
- 4 Hours & You’re Ready For Your Exam
Ideal if you have already taken Florida Drivers Ed and just need to take your DHSMV Permit Exam.
- Avoid Long Lines
- DHSMV Approved
- 3 Free Retakes. You’ll Pass, No Problem!